SBC 5 After School

Hi everyone!
Today I am going to talk about what I want to be and do once I finish school.

One thing you need to know is that I am a BIG dreamer, so my dreams for the future can be a little bit crazy, just letting you know.

If you have read my “All about ME” page, you might have noticed that I LOVE sewing. I make a lot of my clothes as well as some dresses and skirts for both my mum and my little sister. When I sew, I feel like I have the power! You can do whatever you want. You probably know that feeling when you go to buy a t-shirt and you like it so much that you end up buying it. But inside, you just can help thinking about what you would like to change about that piece of clothing. Maybe the color is too bright, or the length is too long, or you don’t really like the picture in the center of the t-shirt. Well, guess what, being the designer of your own clothes can make your clothes be exactly how you want them to be like. This is why in the future, I would like to become a…

fashion designer!Image result for fashion designer (iStock)

On the other hand…

However, I would really like to work on something that would help the environment and nature because I think we, the humans are producing a lot of waste and we need to get rid of that or find a solution to this problem if we want to keep our beautiful Earth safe. That’s why, another option I have of what I would like to become in the future is an Agricultural Engineer. Plus, I enjoy math and science.  (flickr)

So, to make both of my dreams come true, I decided to do this:

  • Build a tiny house  (flickr)

Yes, I want to build my own house, well, I want to build a tiny house, which is normally about 46 m^2. Pretty small, right? Here are some reasons why I want to do so: Building your own house totally relates to what I was talking about in the fashion designer section. 1) If I build my own tiny house, I can design it however I want.  2) I want to live a life with the things I really need and to learn to minimize and to get rid of things that I don’t actually use or need. And this relates to the environment, because now we are consuming a lot of things that we’ll later need to throw away. 3) Since the space is reduced, there are many secret places in the house, like under the couch, there is a box full of skiing equipment, or the bed might be in the ceiling. Isn’t it fun! Another reason I want to live in a tiny house is because 4) I want to travel around the world and visit as many countries as I can. Traveling with my house is way easier that trying to look for houses or hotels and after all, you’ll never feel the same living in another place than your home sweet home.

I got my inspiration from an awesome tiny house women called Jenna that built her own tiny house and makes videos about other tiny houses that she visits. Here is the link to her amazing blog about interesting things of living a tiny house life and other important fact: https://tinyhousegiantjourney.com/

  • Live a zero waste life

Living a zero waste life means reducing the amount of trash you produce, meaning not using trash such as plastic, containers or rubber. For example, if you go to the supermarket, you bring your own bags made out of fabric and your own jars instead of taking plastic bags which are one of the dangerous material in the Earth. Living a zero waste life also means creating some of your own products like toothpaste and lotion. Like the tiny house, living zero waste means reducing the amounts of things you have because they are going to end up in the trash anyway. You also learn to compost which is a great way to recycle and produce soil.

Here is the link to the blog of a great example about a women living zero waste called Lauren Singer who makes videos and blog post about how living like this can be awesome: http://trashisfortossers.com/

So as a summery, when I leave school, I want to become a fashion designer who lives zero waste in a tiny house traveling the world with my cat Tortilla. 🙂 This way, I can do both of my hobbies, create clothes, and help the environment.

Works cited

“Fashion Designer.” IStock, 25 July 2016, www.istockphoto.com/photo/fashion-designer-gm544667458-97945245?esource=SEO_GIS_CDN_Redirect.

Aqua Mechanical, director. Biotechnology Engineer Examining Immature Corn Cob on FieldFlickr, Flickr, 16 Feb. 2016, www.flickr.com/photos/aquamech-utah/24954081852.

Ben Chun, director. The ShedFlickr, Flickr, 14 June 2009, www.flickr.com/photos/benchun/3625699371.

4 thoughts on “SBC 5 After School

  1. Dear Alicia,

    Your post about what you’re going to do once you leave the classroom was very interesting. Once I leave the classroom, I want to be an entrepreneur and manage a business of my own. I also do enjoy Math and Science. What else do you enjoy and what else do you want to do when you grow up? I also wrote a blog on this topic. Please feel free to visit and let me know your comments: http://ww2aircraftofamerica.weebly.com/blog/week-5-lets-talk-school4731184

    Regards,
    Vince

    • Dear Vince,

      Thank you for your comment. I think the idea of managing a business on your own is very interesting but that also mean there is a lot to learn. Another thing I enjoy doing is playing the traverse flute, and in the future I would like to play in a band. Do you play any instruments?

      Greetings,
      Alicia

  2. Hi Alicia! Wow! Your blog is really great! I love the theme you chose.I can tell that you really work hard on your blog posts! They are really great! I like how you talked about several different professions that you would like to do, and why.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *